Feb 22 Thu

Zhang Plays Rach 2

Thursday Thru Saturday
December 02 - 04 2021

Renée and Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall

Concert Timings:
December 2, 2021, 8:00 pm
December 3, 2021, 8:00 pm
December 4, 2021, 8:00 pm

Array ( [0] => 4 [1] => 4 )

Presenting Sponsor:

An evening of greatness begins with world-class pianist Haochen Zhang who has been described by The Washington Post as having an “imagination that keeps you on the edge of your seat and breathless to hear what comes next”—a worthy challenger to Rachmaninoff’s Second Piano Concerto.

Following are two pieces drawn from fantasy: first, Debussy sets the scene for fauns and nymphs in Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun; next, Stravinsky transports you to a world where an evil sorcerer collides with a magical firebird.

Image Magnification & Live Streaming
During the Thursday and Saturday performances, close-ups of the orchestra musicians, conductor and pianist Haochen Zhang will be projected onto the big screen above the orchestra (IMAG). The Friday night performance will be live-streamed and will be available for viewing to ticket holders of all three performances through Jan. 1).

Audience Advisory:
All ticket holders must wear a mask AND provide proof of full vaccination against COVID-19 or a negative COVID-19 PCR test taken within 72 hours of performance. Learn more.


Download Program Notes

This concert is sponsored by:


RACHMANINOFF: Piano Concerto No. 2
DEBUSSY: Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun
STRAVINSKY: Suite from The Firebird (1945)
Doors open at 6:45 p.m.
Preview Talk at 7 p.m. with Assistant  Conductor Dr. Jacob Sustaita

This series is sponsored by: