Pacific Symphony logo

Symphony Thursdays @7pm - Mozart & Gounod

Bridget Dolkas

March 11, 7:00 p.m.Virtual Online Event

Hal & Jeanette Segerstrom Family Foundation Virtual Classical Series


Carl St.Clair, conductor
Dennis Kim, vioin
Bridget Dolkas, violin
Meredith Crawford, viola
Michael Franz, bass
Pacific Symphony
MOZART:  Serenade No. 6 in D major (Serenata notturna)
GOUNOD:  Petite symphonie for Winds (finale only)


Enjoy two tuneful and light-hearted works, composed a century apart by an Austrian and a Frenchman. 

  • Mozart’s “Serenata Notturna,” written by the 20-year-old composer is an enchanting early work. It opens with a dignified march punctuated by timpani to add a distinctive martial air to the otherwise sedate string orchestra. 
  • Gounod wrote his “Little Symphony for Winds” for his friend Paul Taffanel, the flute professor at the Paris Conservatoire, and that instrument gets a starring role. Gounod actually modeled the work after Mozart’s serenades.  

This performance will be available for FREE streaming through April 9.

Watch on YouTube or Facebook or just click the screen below.

Livestream FAQs to enhance your virtual concert experience.

Read the program notes before the concert on the Pacific Symphony App. New App downloads will be entered to win an Amazon Gift Card!

Don't miss a beat! Sign up here to get email reminders about upcoming events.

Please help us continue to provide content like this:
Make a Gift to Pacific Symphony