Pacific Symphony logo

Symphony Thursdays @7pm - Ancient Airs and Dances

Symphony Thursdays @7pm - Ancient Airs and Dances

July 1, 7:00 p.m.Virtual Online Event

Hal & Jeanette Segerstrom Family Foundation Virtual Classical Series
Carl St.Clair, conductor
Pacific Symphony

RESPIGHI: Suite No. 1 from Ancient Airs and Dances
Captured on May 22, 2021

Ottorino Respighi’s interest in Italian music of the 16th, 17th and 18th centuries inspired him to compose “Ancient Airs and Dances,” a set of three orchestral suites in which he borrows from Renaissance composers, including the father of Galileo! The first suite (performed here) is based on four dances originally written for lute: Balletto: "Il Conte Orlando" (by Simone Molinaro), Gagliarda (by Vincenzo Galilei), Villanella (Anonymous) and Passo mezzo e mascherada (Anonymous).

This performance is available for FREE streaming through July 30.

Watch on YouTube or Facebook or just click the screen below.

Livestream FAQs to enhance your virtual concert experience.

Don't miss a beat! Sign up here to get email reminders about upcoming events.

Please help us continue to provide content like this:
Make a Gift to Pacific Symphony