Pacific Symphony logo

Tchaikovsky Fantasy

Markus Groh

December 6 — December 8, 8:00 p.m.Renée and Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall

Carl St.Clair, conductor
Markus Groh, piano
Pacific Symphony

BRAHMS: Piano Concerto No. 2
VAUGHAN WILLIAMS: Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis
TCHAIKOVSKY/ELLINGTON: Suite from The Nutcracker 

Spotify Playlist

Preview Talk with Alan Chapman at 7 p.m. Doors open at 6:45 p.m.

A dazzling reimagining of the traditional Tchaikovsky classic, Duke Ellington’s interpretation of The Nutcracker will jazz up your holiday! Enjoy reinvented favorites like “Sugar Rum Cherry” and “Dance of the Floreadors,”  along with selections from Tchaikovsky's original ballet. German pianist Markus Groh returns with Brahms’ dramatic Second Piano Concerto and Vaughan Williams’ sacred Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis introduce this festive program.

Enjoy image magnification on our big screens during the concert for a closer look at the artists!

Markus Groh

Guest Artist

Markus Groh

Pianist Markus Groh gained immediate world attention after winning the Queen Elisabeth International Competition in 1995, the first German to do so. Since then his remarkable “sound imagination” and astonishing technique have confirmed his place among the finest pianists in the world.

During the current season, Mr. Groh made his debut with the National Symphony Orchestra of Costa Rica under Carl St. Clair, performing the Brahms Piano Concerto No. 1. Later this season, he returns to the U.S. on tour with the Berlin Philharmonic Piano Quartet, in the Morgan Library Chamber Music Series. In 2018/2019, he will make a debut with the National Symphony of Colombia, as well as return appearances with the Omaha Symphony, Pacific Symphony and the National Symphony Orchestra of Costa Rica.

Markus Groh has also appeared with the symphony orchestras of Baltimore, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Detroit, Houston, National/Washington, D.C., the New York Philharmonic, Omaha, Philadelphia, Saint Louis, San Francisco, Seattle, and Vancouver, among others. Worldwide engagements include the Beijing Symphony, Berlin Symphony, Bournemouth Symphony, Residentie Orkest/The Hague, Helsinki Philharmonic, London Symphony, Malmö Symphony, MDR Orchestra/Leipzig Gewandhaus, New Japan Philharmonic, Royal Scottish National Orchestra, St. Petersburg Philharmonic, and the Stuttgart Radio Orchestra, to name a few.

 A spellbinding recitalist, Mr. Groh draws from the piano shapes, textures, and colors that one seldom hears in live performance. In addition to his stunning debut on the Hayes Piano Series at the Kennedy Center in 2013, he has appeared at the Friends of Chamber Music series in Denver and Kansas City, the Vancouver Recital Society, and several times at The Frick Collection in New York. Chamber music activities include regular tours with the Tokyo String Quartet and the newly-founded Berlin Philharmonic Piano Quartet.

Widely acclaimed for his interpretations of Liszt, Markus Groh was a student of Professor Konrad Richter in Stuttgart and Professor Hans Leygraf in Berlin and Salzburg. He has recently been named Professor of Piano at the University of the Arts in Berlin.