Pacific Symphony logo

Zhang Plays Rach 2

Haochen Zhang

December 2 — December 4, 8:00 p.m.Renée and Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall

Markus Stenz, conductor
Haochen Zhang, piano
Pacific Symphony

RACHMANINOFF: Piano Concerto No. 2
DEBUSSY: Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun
STRAVINSKY: Suite from The Firebird (1945)
Doors open at 6:45 p.m.
Preview Talk at 7 p.m. with Assistant Conductor Dr. Jacob Sustaita

An evening of greatness begins with world-class pianist Haochen Zhang who has been described by The Washington Post as having an “imagination that keeps you on the edge of your seat and breathless to hear what comes next”—a worthy challenger to Rachmaninoff’s Second Piano Concerto.

Following are two pieces drawn from fantasy: first, Debussy sets the scene for fauns and nymphs in Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun; next, Stravinsky transports you to a world where an evil sorcerer collides with a magical firebird.

Audience Advisory:
All ticket holders must wear a mask AND provide proof of full vaccination against COVID-19 or a negative COVID-19 PCR test taken within 72 hours of performance. Learn more.

Image Magnification

During the Thursday and Saturday performances, close-ups of the orchestra musicians, conductor and pianist Haochen Zhang will be projected onto the big screen above the orchestra (IMAG).