Pacific Symphony logo

Rach 2

Pianist Boris Giltburg

May 31 — June 2, 8:00 p.m.Renée and Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall

Ben Gernon, guest conductor
Boris Giltburg, piano
Pacific Symphony

PROKOFIEV: Russian Overture Op. 72
RACHMANINOFF: Piano Concerto No. 2
STRAVINSKY: Petrushka (1947 version)

Spotify Playlist

Preview Talk at 7 p.m. with host Alan Chapman. Doors open at 6:45 p.m.

Gramophone places pianist Boris Giltburg “among the truly memorable Rachmaninoff interpreters, an elect including Moiseiwitsch, Horowitz, Kappel, Richter and Cliburn. Giltberg’s originality stems from a convergence of heart and mind, served by immaculate technique and motivated by a deep and abiding love for one of the 20th century’s greatest composer-pianists.” 

Stravinsky had the star-making “Firebird” behind him and the epoch-launching “Rite of Spring” in front of him when he composed the ballet “Petrushka.” Its scene is a Russian carnival, the main characters a trio of puppets. The vibrant colors of the instrumentation, the bustling harmonies and rustic dances capture it all unmistakably, in one of the composer’s most engaging fancies.