Pacific Symphony logo

PSYWE Spring Concert

Pacific Symphony Youth Wind Ensemble

Gregory X. Whitmore, conductor
Pacific Symphony Youth Wind Ensemble

LAURIDSEN: O Magnum Mysterium
HINDEMITH: Symphonic Metamorphosis
VAUGHAN WILLIAMS: The Lark Ascending
MAHPAR: Alice in Wonderland

Pacific Symphony Youth Wind Ensemble opens its spring concert with an instrumental arrangement of Morten Lauridsen's breathtakingly beautiful choral piece, "O Magnum Mysterium," followed by Paul Hindemith's "Symphonic Metamorphosis"  on themes of Carl Maria von Weber. The program continues with Britain's favorite piece of classical music, Ralph Vaughan Williams' "The Lark Ascending" and closes with the fanciful "Alice in Wonderland" by Los Angeles-based composer Steven Mahpar. 

Admission is free, but tickets are required. Seating is general admission.