Pacific Symphony logo

Pinchas Zukerman

Violinist Pinchas Zukerman

March 15 — March 17, 8:00 p.m.Renée and Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall

Carl St.Clair, conductor
Pinchas Zukerman, violin
Pacific Symphony

RAVEL: Daphnis and Chloe Suite No. 2
MOZART: Violin Concerto No. 3
~ Intermission ~
MUSSORGSKY/RAVEL: Pictures at an Exhibition
(with visuals)

Spotify Playlist

Preview Talk at 7 p.m. with host Alan Chapman. Doors open at 6:45 p.m.

“Zukerman again seemed the forever-young virtuoso: expressively resourceful, infectiously musical, technically impeccable, effortless. As usual, it was a joy to be in his musical company,” said the Los Angeles Times about living legend Pinchas Zukerman. The violin master makes a return to Pacific Symphony with Mozart's delightful Violin Concerto No. 3.

As both a tribute to a fellow artist (Mussorgsky’s friend Viktor Hartmann, a painter) and an essay in musical imagery, “Pictures at an Exhibition” has never been surpassed. Ravel’s orchestration discovers layers of meaning and drama implicit in the black and white original, for piano alone, all the while turning it into an unrivaled showpiece for orchestra.