Mar 21 Tue

Mendelssohn's Violin Concerto

Thursday Thru Saturday
November 11 - 13 2021

Renée and Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall

Concert Timings:
November 11, 2021, 8:00 pm
November 12, 2021, 8:00 pm
November 13, 2021, 8:00 pm

Array ( [0] => 4 [1] => 4 )

Presenting Sponsor:

New music meets established favorites. First, the music of Gabriela Lena Frank takes inspiration from her own Peruvian heritage and melds the British sounds of composer Benjamin Britten. Following is Mendelssohn’s indelible violin concerto featuring the striking and charismatic Rachel Barton Pine. On the second half, music from two Pulitzer Prize winners: Caroline Shaw’s Entr’acte takes you in a time machine through music’s Baroque, Classical and Contemporary eras. And finally Aaron Copland’s joyous Appalachian Spring Suite captures the essence of the American sound and spirit.

Live Streaming
The Friday night performance will be live-streamed and will be available for viewing to ticket holders of all three performances through Dec. 12).

Audience Advisory:
All ticket holders must wear a mask AND provide proof of full vaccination against COVID-19 or a negative COVID-19 PCR test taken within 72 hours of performance. Learn more.

Download Program Notes


GABRIELA LENA FRANK:  Concertino Cusqueño
MENDELSSOHN: Violin Concerto
COPLAND:  Appalachian Spring Suite (full orchestra version)
Doors open at 6:45 p.m.
Preview Talk at 7 p.m. with Assistant Conductor Dr. Jacob Sustaita

This series is sponsored by: