Pacific Symphony logo

Haochen Zhang Plays Rachmaninoff

Haochen Zhang

Carl St.Clair, conductor
Haochen Zhang, piano

RACHMANINOFF: Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini
SCHUBERT: Symphony No. 9, “The Great”
Doors open at 6:45 p.m.
Preview Talk with KUSC's Alan Chapman at 7 p.m.

An evening of greatness begins with world-class pianist Haochen Zhang who has been described by The Washington Post as having an “imagination that keeps you on the edge of your seat and breathless to hear what comes next”—a worthy challenger to Rachmaninoff’s intense Rhapsody. Following is Schubert’s ninth symphony nicknamed “The Great” for its pure grand majesty and awe-inspiring scale.