Pacific Symphony logo

Soka: Beethoven's "Emperor"

Pianist Joyce Yang

Carl St.Clair, conductor
Joyce Yang, piano
Faktura Piano Trio
– HyeJin Kim, piano
– Fabiola Kim, violin
– Ben Solomonow, cello
Pacific Symphony

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 5, "Emperor"
Beethoven: Triple Concerto

Van Cliburn International Piano Competition silver medalist and Avery Fisher Career Grant recipient, Joyce Yang, captivates audiences with her virtuosity, lyricism and interpretive sensitivity. “Her attention to detail and clarity is as impressive as her agility, balance and velocity” (Washington Post).

Joyce Yang

Guest Artist

Joyce Yang

Blessed with “poetic and sensitive pianism” (Washington Post) and a “wondrous sense of color” (San Francisco Classical Voice), pianist Joyce Yang captivates audiences across the globe with her virtuosity, lyricism and magnetic stage presence. She has established herself as one of the leading artists of her generation through her innovative solo recitals and collaborations with the world’s top orchestras. In 2010 she received an Avery Fisher Career Grant, one of classical music’s most prestigious accolades.

Yang came to international attention in 2005 when she won the silver medal at the 12th Van Cliburn International Piano Competition. The youngest contestant, she took home two additional awards: the Steven De Groote Memorial Award for Best Performance of Chamber Music (with the Takàcs Quartet) and the Beverley Taylor Smith Award for Best Performance of a New Work.